Flying With White Eagle released at last.

Flying With White Eagle

pioneer homesteader & bush pilot
Ayliffe “Pat” Carey
1903 – 1999
in his own words – as told to Ben Nuttall-Smith

Ayliffe “Pat” Carey’s experiences – as homesteader, logger and bush pilot –provide an exceptional insight into pioneer life in the first decades of the twentieth century on Canada’s West Coast.
While logging his homestead island in BC’s Fraser Valley, Pat developed a passion for flying, overcoming countless barriers and setbacks, including repairs and alterations to his aircraft. He speaks matter-of-factly, without heroics, about flying missions over mountains and glaciers, often in dangerous weather conditions. He recalls details vividly – taking us with him on his amazing journeys.
ISBN 978-0-9865938-9-5
$14.95 Canadian – 146 pages
Pat’s earlier experiences as a young man growing up in British Columbia’s Fraser Valley and as home-steader and logger, provide an exceptional insight into pioneering days in the first decades of the twentieth century. His stories of flying from Chilliwack B.C. to Canada’s Far North are fascinating tales of aviation history

Pat tells his story as if he’s reliving every moment. His attention to detail and his memory for names are amazing.

Pat Carey died on October 9th, 1999, aged 96. Following his memorial service, Pat’s widow Jean asked me to honour the memory of her late husband by continuing the biographical work.

send full mailing address to bennuttallsmith@me.com.
Then mail me a cheque (I’ll send you my address) OR PAYMENT BY INTERAC e-transfer
I’ll accept $18 Canadian to include shipping and postage – Canada or U.S.A.
As soon as I have your address, I’ll mail the package on trust.

Pencil drawing by Ben Nuttall-Smith The current manuscript contains 28 sketches

In early 1996, as a volunteer for the Sunshine Coast White Cane Society, I met Ayliffe “Pat” Carey, a blind ex-bush pilot. When he heard I wrote stories for the local newspaper, Pat asked me if I’d consent to write his biography. I soon began weekly visits to the Carey trailer home where Pat and his wife Jean told me exciting and often humorous stories of his life from Fraser Valley pioneer to bush pilot.

Leave a Reply

